Shameless Self Promotion… If I don’t… who will?

bragging

A few weeks ago a local stand up comic, Mark Forward, posted the following message on Facebook

 “Recently I realized no one will promote you in this country unless you do it yourself. So, I’ve been trying to do that. Maybe I post things too often or too much, but I’m just feeling it out. Sometimes you post something five times, and no one sees it. Now, I know, we as Canadians for some reason frown upon self promotion. But I just wanted to thank you all for sticking with me, and being so supportive and kind with everything I post. That’s all. It’s the Canadian in me that feels I need to apologize for promoting myself. Hopefully one day, we promote our own. Cheers.”

 

Reading his post kinda pissed me off… Why is there such a stigma on embracing your talents, being proud of your work and promoting yourself? Mark is a very talented comedian, he’s one of my favourites! His stand up is bizarre and insanely funny, his tweets are equally as bizarrely funny, and his character, Mr. Leung, on CBC’s Mr. D is dark, creepy and hilarious! To me, he’s a comedic genius, you can tell he loves what he does and it shines through his work.

 

So why should such a talented person apologise for promoting his work? Why would people look down on someone who is simply saying “hey, this is me, my work, I’m proud, check me out”… Since we live in a society where promoting others seems like a negative thing, shameless self promotion is all we have… and so what???

 

I am an event planner in Toronto; I have my own business, and have been at this full time for over 7 years… I work my ass off to produce high quality events, provide my clients with confidence in not only my suppliers, such as caterers, staff, decor etc. but also in me. I work my fingers to the bone, and I am sure I annoy my staff with my attention to detail, but my clients all walk away with a feeling that I have taken care of each of their needs and made them look like superstars to their managers and guests… I know I am good at what I do, I have a stack 5 feet high of positive testimonials and thank you’s and not one complaint… and yet I still have issues with selling myself, promoting myself…

 Is this, like Mark says, a Canadian thing? If we don’t promote ourselves who will? I try to promote businesses that I like, I spread the word on talented people, I refer people all the time to trusted sources… A lot of my business is referrals from clients, and I am always so appreciative of that… However, my postings on Facebook and Twitter are, for the most part, tame, I put up pictures of events, or simply state that my event went really well and I had a very happy client… I’d like to say “it was the best event ever and you should all hire me!”

“You have to do a little bragging on yourself even to your relatives-

man doesn’t get anywhere without advertising.”

John Nance Garner

 

So, I am going to make it my mission, from this point forward to ensure you know

it’s not only ok but encouraged for you to Recognise Your Strengths,

Sing The Praises Of Your Talents, Toot Your Own Horn, promote yourself…

and even BRAG ABOUT YOUR TRUE AWESOMENESS!!!

 

And I am starting with me… “I am Lalita, of Events by Lalita, I love what I do, it’s truly my passion and because of that passion I am an amazing event planner and will work so very hard to make sure your event is flawless!”

“It is important that you recognize your progress and take pride in your accomplishments. Share your achievements with others. Brag a little. The recognition and support of those around you is nurturing.”

Rosemarie Rossetti

Bragging2

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Harrison Wheeler
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 16:13:38

    Self-promotion feels odd to me too. I suppose that’s because I’m not a fan of brazen self promoters, you know? The in-your-face kind who treat the ‘customer’ like another rat in an experiment. I never want to come off like that, and thus need to apologize in case I have. If done tastefully though, self-promotion can feel like a cool, honest connection, one person to another. Business is what our capitalist society is built upon, after all. Cool post, thanks!

    Reply

  2. Shivani Patel
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 17:47:28

    Self promotion is not arrogance if done with dignity. And if you are truly passionate about what you do, you should let the world know about it. There is beauty in saying I am good at something, if you believe in yourself.

    And Lalita, you are not just good at your craft but a true artist at it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

