Disappointments or blessings in disguise???

Over the years I have been thrown many a curve ball, been let down a lot, faced disappointment head on. But, hey I am still here, and for the most part pretty darn happy… I’ve learned to never give up hope, that, while there is no guarantee of a tomorrow, I still go to bed each night thanking God for my blessings and ask Him for the strength to do it all over again tomorrow, with the hope I get it right 🙂

 

“We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope.” Martin Luther King, Jr.

 

Looking forward to things is one of the sweetest gifts life has to offer, vacations, babies, new love, new careers, new opportunities… That feeling of anticipation & elation, is matched by few other emotions. However when those things don’t go according to ‘our’ plan, we have to remember its not ‘our’ plan that is ‘The’ plan!

 

I believe that we must, as Jesus said, ‘ask and ye shall receive’, however He didn’t say ‘ask and here’s how and then I’ll receive’. We simply ask and know its ours long before its physically in our hands. Let the ‘how’ just flow, follow the path before you and it will manifest.

 

“Asking is the beginning of receiving. Make sure you don’t go to the ocean with a teaspoon. At least take a bucket so the kids won’t laugh at you.” Jim Rohn

 

So when things don’t go my way I know there was a higher power protecting me from what could have happened.

 

“Some luck lies in not getting what you thought you wanted but getting what you have, which once you have got it you may be smart enough to see is what you would have wanted had you known.” Garrison Keillor (FYI, this is probably one of my most favourite quotes)

 

So, while in the moment, I may feel sad, disappointed, bummed out, in the long run I know ‘The’ plan is the right plan. One example I always remind myself of is a story from my trip to Egypt back in 1994…

 

We were travelling the country by train, and we were very diligent about being at the station early so that we would be sure not to miss our train. One morning we slept through the alarm, the wakeup call, and missed our train. All the way to the station we kept complaining about having to pay the penalty to change our ticket. We were pissed off at the added expenditure, and disappointed by the fact we missed our tour that we had booked that day. We got the next train and continued on our journey in silence. The next day we were watching the news and saw that the train we were ‘supposed’ to be on was attacked by guerrillas and our car was badly hit.

 

My belief…? God made us sleep in, made us miss that train, as we were not finished our journey here in these bodies…

 

So, yes, I’ve been disappointed, let down… But when I look back, they now appear as blessings in disguise for as said before, I am still here, smiling, laughing and looking forward to the next adventure, onwards and upwards as they say!

 

 “Our real blessings often appear to us in the shape of pains, losses and disappointments; but let us have patience and we soon shall see them in their proper figures.” Joseph Addison

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

