Lalita version 2.0

My first blog… I signed up for this account about a month ago but it took me a while to figure out what to write… Then today I had an incredibly eye-opening morning and felt the need to express it in more characters than the Facebook 420…

But I’ll start with my Facebook status from this morning and go from there…

It’s not even noon, I am still in my jammies on the sofa and today, Thursday February 24, 2011, has been a life changing day… a day full of learning hard, painful, but needed lessons, a day full of love from thousands of miles away, a day I will forever hold in my heart… it’s a defining day, it’s a miraculous day… a day that has eternally changed who I am, and who I want to be…

Two days ago I posted this quote by Dr. Wayne Dyer “Choose to align yourself with people who are like-minded in their search for simplified inspiration. Give those who find fault or who are confrontational a silent blessing and remove yourself from their energy as quickly as possible. Your life is simplified enormously when you don’t have to defend yourself to anyone, and when you receive support rather than criticism.”

Then my sweet Russian Irina reposted it, I mentioned I had read and reread the quote and am in need of cleaning house in my relationships… to which she replied

“You are too loving, Lalita. Just let them go. It’s quality of friends that matters, not quantity. That’s one of the reasons why I only have a handful of friends across all the continents. My time is too precisions and I chose to spend it only with the kindest and most loving people. I even changed jobs because I didn’t want to be around people who didn’t make me feel good. You are so wonderfully amazing, Lalita. You deserve to be around only the most beautiful souls who make you feel that you are the best thing that ever happened to us :-)”

Wow… well that made me cry and cry and cry some more… but it also made me think about how I’ve spent my life… I am not complaining mind you, I am just making a statement of fact… I have spent the majority of my time listening to others, being there for others, taking on their problems as if they were my own. I do always and forever want to be available to my friends, be an ear, a shoulder, a safe place for them to go to… I can no longer take these problems to heart… I don’t mean I want to stop caring, I couldn’t possibly stop caring about the people I love… it does mean I need to detach myself from their problems… I immerse myself in them, think about them at nights, worry, stress etc. BUT DAMMIT I have my own problems… those are the ones on which I need to focus…

I have spent way too many years inside the lives of others, all the while ignoring my own issues… and lemme tell people I gots issues! (According to one very dear friend who has heard my life story in its entirety… “You should sell your life story to Hollywood and just watch the money roll in” LOL, perhaps one day I will).

Finally, this morning, someone posted this video on Facebook, http://www.facebook.com/?ref=logo#!/video/video.php?v=186403811399813&comments

It moved me so deeply, that I wept for what seemed like hours… This man, who most of the world would write off as disabled with little potential for any thing other than mediocrity, created…. created beauty & joy… he made his life worth living, he found a passion, he followed it, he made believers out of skeptics, he made the impossible… possible.

He, without even knowing it, has forever changed me… From this moment onwards I will put everything I have into living a great life… I will stop hoping, and wishing and start asking and demanding… I will try to have unwavering faith in the Almighty that I am where I am for a reason and will fulfill that reason with all that I am…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nostarvingartist
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 07:12:18

    It’s great when you have an ephiphany like that!

    Reply

  2. Edwina
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 10:02:02

    “BUT DAMMIT I have my own problems… those are the ones on which I need to focus…” – Right on sistah! *fist pumps*

    Lalita, I’m loving your blog. Can’t wait to read more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

